Saturday, December 5, 2015

Shock of Night

Summary: The Darkwater Claims All Who Enter It.
All But One.
When one man is brutally murdered and the priest he works for mortally wounded, Willet Dura, reeve to the king of Bunard, is called to investigate. As he begins to question the dying priest, the man pulls Willet close and screams in a foreign tongue. Then he dies without another word.

Willet returns to his task, but the clues to the crime lead to contradictions and questions without answers, and his senses are skewed. People he touches appear to have a subtle shift, as though he can divine their deepest thoughts. In a world divided between haves and have-nots, gifted and common, Willet soon learns he's been passed the rarest gift of all--a gift that's not supposed to exist.

Now Willet must pursue the murderer still on the loose in Bunard even as he's pulled into a dangerous conflict that threatens not only his city, but his entire world--a conflict  that will force him to come to terms with his inability to remember how he escaped the Darkwater Forest--and what happened to him inside it.

"Book one in the Darkwater Saga is filled with suspense, intrigue and action. As readers get to know the characters, Carr seamlessly immerses them into his fascinating kingdom. This story sets the stage for a series fantasy fans will love."--RT Book Reviews


I read the short story prequel to Shock of Night, and was immediately intrigued by it. The suspense kept me glued to the pages of this book, and the twists and turns of the plot continually surprised me. As I have read the previous trilogy by Patrick W Carr, I must say that that the Darkwater Saga surpass it. The characters are well described, and the story is well paced.
I love Willet and all the other characters, and how you feel like your right there in the story. This action story is a must read, and will not disappoint you.

I received this book from Bookfun for an honest review.
I rate this nook 5 out of 5 stars.

No comments:

Post a Comment